CODA Wins Best Picture   

ANDREW GARFIELD and KRISTEN STEWART Win Best Actor and Best Actress Awards

DENIS VILLENEUVE and JANE CAMPION Jointly Awarded Best Director

Los Angeles, CA (February 28, 2022) – The Hollywood Critics Association (HCA) announced today the winners of the 5th Annual HCA Film Awards Ceremony including CODA winning Best Picture, Best Actor sent to Andrew Garfield in tick, tick…BOOM! and Best Actress to Kristen Stewart in Spencer and Best Directors were jointly awarded to Denis Villeneuve, Dune & Jane Campion, The Power of The Dog. This year’s gala was held in person at the Avalon Hollywood in Los Angeles, CA, and live-streamed on the official HCA Facebook page and YouTube Channel.

“2021 was a year full of change in the world of cinema with a limited number of films being released theatrically and a seismic shift in the film landscape, which created an opportunity for many films to be seen by audiences worldwide,’ said HCA Founder Scott Menzel. “The Hollywood Critics Association is honored to bestow this year’s awards to some of the best in filmmaking as we hopefully move forward with a new normal and can continue to celebrate the film-watching experience in theaters and at home. Congrats to all the winners and thank you for the magic you gave us this year.”

The HCA also bestowed Honorary Awards including the Acting Achievement Award to Nicolas Cage, Artisan Achievement Award to Greig Fraser, Artisan on the Rise to Alice Brooks, Excellence in Artistry to Kenneth Branagh, Filmmaker on the Rise to Natalie Morales, Filmmaking Achievement Award to Guillermo del Toro, Game Changer Award to Simu Liu, Inspire Award to Aunjanue Ellis, International Icon Award to Javier Bardem, Newcomer Award to Jude Hill, Spotlight Award to The Cast of CODA and Star on the Rise to Saniyya Sidney.

Below is a full list of the 2021 award recipients, announced by the Hollywood Critics Association:

Best Picture – CODA

Best Actor – Andrew Garfield, tick, tick…BOOM!

Best Actress – Kristen Stewart, Spencer

Best Supporting Actor – Troy Kotsur, CODA

Best Supporting Actress – Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Best Cast Ensemble – Belfast

Best Director *Tie* – Denis Villeneuve, Dune & Jane Campion, The Power of The Dog

Best Original Screenplay – Fran Kranz, Mass

Best Adapted Screenplay – Siân Heder, CODA

Best Animated or VFX Performance – Stephanie Beatriz, Encanto

Best Action Film – The Harder They Fall

Best Animated Film – The Mitchells vs. The Machines

Best Comedy or Musical – tick, tick…BOOM!

Best Documentary – Summer of Soul 

Best Horror – Last Night in Soho

Best Indie Film – Pig

Best International Film – Drive My Car

Best First Feature – Lin-Manuel Miranda, tick, tick…BOOM!

Best Short Film – Us Again

Best Score – Hans Zimmer, Dune

Best Original Song – Be Alive, King Richard

Best Cinematography – Greig Fraser, Dune

Best Production Design – Tamara Deverell, Nightmare Alley

Best Film Editing – Paul Machliss, Last Night in Soho

Best Stunts – Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings

Best Costume Design – Jenny Beavan, Cruella

Best Hair & Makeup – Justin Raleigh, Linda Dowds, and Stephanie Ingram, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Best Visual Effects – Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert, and Tristan Myles, Dune

Honorary Awards

Acting Achievement Award – Nicolas Cage

Artisan Achievement Award – Greig Fraser

Artisan on the Rise – Alice Brooks

Excellence in Artistry – Kenneth Branagh

Filmmaker on the Rise – Natalie Morales

Filmmaking Achievement Award – Guillermo del Toro

Game Changer Award – Simu Liu

Inspire Award – Aunjanue Ellis

International Icon Award – Javier Bardem

Newcomer Award – Jude Hill

Spotlight Award – The Cast of CODA

Star on the Rise – Saniyya Sidney

For more information on this year’s awards ceremony, please visit

About the Hollywood Critics Association:

Founded in late 2016, the Hollywood Critics Association’s mission is to bring together a diverse and passionate group of critics and entertainment journalists who represent the voices of a new era in Hollywood.

For more information about the Hollywood Critics Association, please visit or follow us on social media:

Twitter: @HCACritics

Facebook: @HollywoodCriticsAssociation

Instagram: @HollywoodCriticsAssociation