The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society 2nd Annual Midseason Award Winners


Over the weekend, the members of the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society voted for their 2nd Annual Midseason Awards. The twelve categories highlighted various films that were released from January 1, 2019 to June 30, 2019 including a category where the members voted on which upcoming release for the 2nd half of 2019 they were most excited to see.

Olivia Wilde’s Booksmart was the biggest winner of the Midseason Awards taking home a total of five awards including Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Female Director for Olivia Wilde. Jordan Peele’s Us and Dexter Fletcher’s Rocketman are tied for second place with a total of two wins each. Us won Best Actress for Lupita Nyong’o and Best Male Director for Jordan Peele while Rocketman took home Best Actor for Taron Egerton and Best Supporting Actor for Jamie Bell.

A full list of winners and the runner-ups can be found below:

Best Picture


Winner: Booksmart


Runner-Up: Rocketman


Best Actor


Winner: Taron Egerton, Rocketman


Runner-Up: Robert Downey Jr, Avengers: Endgame


Best Actress


Winner: Lupita Nyong’o, Us


Runner-Up: Beanie Feldstein, Booksmart


Best Supporting Actor


Winner: Jamie Bell, Rocketman


Runner-Up: Ben Mendelsohn, Captain Marvel


Best Supporting Actress


Winner: Billie Lourd, Booksmart


Runner-Up: Naomi Scott, Aladdin


Best Male Director


Winner: Jordan Peele, Us


Runner-Up: Dexter Fletcher, Rocketman


Best Female Director


Winner: Olivia Wilde, Booksmart


Runner-Up: Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre, The Mustang


Best Original Screenplay


Winner: Booksmart, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, & Katie Silberman


Runner-Up: Us, Jordan Peele


Best Adapted Screenplay


Toy Story 4, Andrew Stanton & Stephany Folsom


Runner-Up: Avengers: Endgame, Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely


Best Indie Film


Winner: Booksmart


Runner-Up: The Souvenir


Best Streaming Movie or TV Series


Winner: When They See Us, Netflix


Runner-Up: Always Be My Maybe, Netflix


Most Anticipated Film for the Second Half of 2019


Winner: Once Upon A Time in Hollywood


Runner-Up: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


Founded in late 2016, the creation of the LAOFCS was to promote inclusion in film criticism while being an organization that promotes and celebrates film year-round. The LAOFCS is made up of 49 members who live or reside in the LA area. Each January, our application period opens and remains open until the end of March.

LAOFCS current members are Aaron Neuwirth, Abbie Bernstein, Alexander Robinson, Alicia Malone, Angelique Jackson, Ashley Menzel, Carla Renata, Christopher James, Dan Murrell, David Bax, Debbie Lynn Elias, Demetri Panos, Elizabeth Stanton, Eric Eisenberg, Heather A. Wixson, James Oster, Jami Philbrick, Jana N. Nagase, Jazz Tangcay, Joel D. Amos, John Rocha, Karen M. Peterson, Katie Kilkenny, Kevin O’ Keeffe, Kevin Taft, Kit Bowen, Lauren Huff, Liz Shannon Miller, Luis Lecca, Lupe Rodriguez  Haas, Maggie Ma, Mark Pacis, Michael J Lee, Michael Sandoval, Morgan Rojas, Nestor Bentancor, Nikki Novak, Peter Sciretta, Rama Tampubolon, Scott Mantz, Scott Mendelson, Scott Menzel, Simon Thompson, Staci Layne Wilson, Stephen Saito, Terence Johnson, Wendy Lee, William Bibbiani, and Witney Seibold.  


Where to find us:


Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,


Contact Us:


Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society