The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society announces their 2nd Annual Midseason Awards Nominees with Booksmart, Us, and Rocketman topping the nomination list.

The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society has announced the nominees for their Midseason Film Awards for the first half of 2019. Each June, the members of the LAOFCS vote in twelve different categories to help shine a light on what they believe are the best films of 2019 prior to entering the official award season.

Olivia Wilde’s Booksmart received the most love with seven nominations while Jordan Peele’s Us and Dexter Fletcher’s Rocketman tied for second place receiving a total of six nominations each.

The winners of the LAOFCS Midseason Awards will be revealed on Monday, July 1, 2019.

Best Movie:

Apollo 11

Avengers: Endgame


Captain Marvel

John Wick Chapter 3

Long Shot



Toy Story 4


Best Actor:

Keanu Reeves, John Wick: Chapter 3

Robert Downey Jr, Avengers: Endgame

Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Winston Duke, Us 

Zachary Levi, Shazam!

Best Actress:

Beanie Feldstein, Booksmart

Elisabeth Moss, Her Smell

Emma Thompson, Late Night

Kaitlyn Dever, Booksmart

Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Best Supporting Actor:

Ben Mendelsohn, Captain Marvel

Jack Dylan Grazer, Shazam

Jamie Bell, Rocketman

Keanu Reeves, Toy Story 4

Richard Madden, Rocketman

Best Supporting Actress:

Billie Lourd, Booksmart

Elizabeth Moss, Us

Naomi Scott, Aladdin

Rene Russo, Velvet Buzzsaw

Shahadi Wright Joseph, Us

Best Adapted Screenplay:

Avengers: Endgame, Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely

Captain Marvel, Anna Boden & Ryan Fleck & Geneva Robertson-Dworet

Gloria Bell, Alice Johnson Boher & Sebastián Lelio

Shazam!, Henry Gayden

Toy Story 4, Andrew Stanton & Stephany Folsom

Best Original Screenplay:

Booksmart, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, & Katie Silberman

Late Night, Mindy Kaling

Long Shot, Dan Sterling & Elizabeth Hannah

Rocketman, Lee Hall

Us, Jordan Peele

Best Male Director:

David F. Sandberg, Shazam!

Dexter Fletcher, Rocketman

Jordan Peele, Us

Josh Cooley, Toy Story 4

The Russo Brothers, Avengers: Endgame

Best Female Director:

Joanna Hogg, The Souvenir

Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre, The Mustang

Nahnatchka Khan, Always Be My Maybe

Nisha Ganatra, Late Night

Olivia Wilde, Booksmart

Best Indie Film:


Her Smell

Late Night

The Souvenir

Wild Rose

Best Streaming Movie or TV Series:

Always Be My Maybe, Netflix

The Act, Hulu

Fleabag Season 2, Amazon

Russian Doll, Netflix

When They See Us, Netflix

Most Anticipated Film For the 2nd Half of 2019: 

It: Chapter 2


Little Women

Once Upon a Time In Hollywood

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society was founded in November 2016. The goal of the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society is to highlight varied voices in film criticism while maintaining a year-round presence with daily critic picks, a movie pick of the week, and a weekly podcast called LAOFCS Weekly that airs live at 11 am PST every Friday on the Popcorn Talk Network.

Where to find us:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,

Contact Us:

Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society