The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society is pleased to announce that we are now accepting new member applications for 2018. The application period will remain open until March 31, 2018.

We encourage and welcome all critics in or around the LA area to apply. You can review all membership requirements and apply for membership by visiting LAOFCS.org.

The LA Online Film Critics Society was launched in late 2016 by Scott Menzel, Scott Mantz, and Krisily Kennedy. In 2017, the organization accepted 20 critics into the group as part of their inaugural year of membership.

On January 10, 2018, the LAOFCS hosted their inaugural award ceremony. The intimate event celebrated a wide variety of films from 2017. Jordan Peele, Edgar Wright, Michael Showalter, Gary Oldman, Sally Hawkins, Patrick Stewart, Michael Stuhlbarg, Guillermo del Toro, Doug Jones, and Adrian Molina attended the ceremony and celebrated their achievements with our members.

At the event, Academy Award Nominee Jessica Chastain received the LAOFCS Trailblazer Award for her work on and off-screen. Chastain delivered an incredible speech about the importance of diversity in film criticism.

In addition, the LAOFCS supported the Times Up movement during the event. The organization handed out pins to all guests in attendance and LAOFCS founder Scott Menzel donated $500 to the movement on behalf of the organization.

The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society will be accepting 10-14 new members in 2018. New members will be announced via email, twitter, and press release in mid to late April 2018.

In the Spring or early Summer, the LAOFCS will be launching a monthly film show or podcast which will feature various members of the organization talking about various topics in film. We are hopeful to have more on this soon and are meeting with members early next week to discuss various ways that we can make the LAOFCS a year-round organization.

If you have any questions or thoughts about the organization or applying for membership, please feel free to reply to this email at any time.

Thank you,

Scott Menzel, Scott Mantz, and Krisily Kennedy

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply